Convention on the Protection of the Alps (Alpine Convention)

The Alpine Convention is an international treaty between the Alpine countries aimed at promoting sustainable development in the Alpine area and at protecting the interests of the people living within it. It embraces the environmental, social, economic and cultural dimensions.

→ State parties

Framework Convention, 7 November 1991

The Convention is a framework that sets out the basic principles of all the activities of the Alpine Convention and contains general measures for the sustainable development in the Alpine region. It entered into force on March 1995.

Specific measures implementing the principles laid down in the framework Convention are contained in the Protocols to the Alpine Convention; in which concrete steps to be taken for the protection and sustainable development of the Alps are set out.

"Spatial planning and sustainable development" Protocol, 20 December 1994

"Conservation of nature and the countryside" Protocol, 20 December 1994

"Mountain farming" Protocol, 20 December 1994

"Mountain forests" Protocol, 27 February 1996

"Tourism" Protocol, 16 October 1998

"Energy" Protocol, 16 October 1998

"Soil conservation" Protocol, 16 October 1998

"Transport" Protocol, 31 October 2000


Two more protocols were adopted by the Contracting Parties to the Alpine Convention : the Protocol on the solution of litigations and the Additional Protocol for Monaco.

In addition to protocols, two Ministerial non-binding declarations on specific topics have also been adopted.

"Population and culture" Declaration, November 2006

"Climate change" Declaration, November 2006